Grief and Loss

I want to share with you a little bit about the process of grief and what to expect when you are experiencing grief and loss. It’s important to note that grief isn’t reserved just for those who have experienced the loss of a close family member or friend.  People can experience grief over any kind of loss.
First of all, grief is normal.  It’s natural for people to experience grief in response to loss.  At some point in our lives we will all experience grief over a loss, whether it’s the loss of a loved one, the loss of a relationship, the loss of a job, a significant change in our health, or something else.

The 5 Stages of Grief

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and David Kessler identified 5 stages of grief that everyone experiences:
1.     Denial
2.     Anger
3.     Bargaining
4.     Depression
5.     Acceptance
The following link provides more detailed information on each of the stages of grief:

The Grief Cycle

Below is a diagram of the Grief Cycle.  The Grief Cycle looks a little bit different than Kubler-Ross’s 5 Stages of Grief and, I think, provides an excellent visual of the process of grief.

The 4 Tasks of Mourning

William Worden has identified common grief reactions that fall into 4 categories such as “feelings, physical sensations, cognitions and behaviors” and he has laid out the “4 Tasks of Mourning” is a way to heal and move past your grief:
Task 1 – Accept the Reality of the Loss
Task 2 – Process the Pain of Grief
Task 3  – Adjust to a Life without the Deceased (or Loss)
Task 4 – Find an Enduring Connection with the Deceased (or loss) in the Midst of Embarking on a New Life

Finding Support for Your Grief in San Diego, CA

If you’re experiencing grief, you don’t have to go through it alone. Click here to schedule a free, 15-minute phone consultation for counseling in Eastlake Chula Vista, CA. Or, you can look for a support group where you can express your feelings. I hope you find the support that you need in your time of grief.
~ Christy